My first night in Italy

16 Oct

So my first night in Italy wasn’t what I expected. After leaving work early and rushing to make sure I didn’t miss my flight, I got to the airport in plenty of time (2 1/2 hours from departure). My plane, however, was nowhere to be found. It was delayed. Not just a little delayed either, it was delayed so much that the departures board basically mocked me with “relax & shop.” I’m not kidding. Here’s a quick recap of the night:

Flight delayed by 2.5 hours: a little stress
Bus ticket from airport purchased before reading schedule: €6
Cab fare from airport after realizing the bus stopped running: €16
Original train ticket to Rome: €10
Last minute 5am ticket to Rome: €38
Falling asleep on my backpack in a room of snoring old men with questionable Italian heritage: €0
Drifting back into consciousness to find said men staring at me: a little uncomfortable
Realizing they are either staring because I am also snoring or because I have a velcro crease across my cheek from my jacket: minor embarrassment
Watching the sunrise in Italy: priceless

Italy here I come!

Disclaimer: I didn’t actually watch the sunrise so much as drift in and out of consciousness while the sun rose.

Leave a comment